48Days.NET

I have this saying...

I am willing to speak for free; but I never speak for free!

What I mean by this saying is that I'm willing to speak for free in exchange for something.  So, for instances, when I am new to a particular speaking market, I'll speak for free in exchange for the exposure, testimonies, a professional video of my talk, an opportunity to build my contact lists, an opportunity to sell books, etc.

When you first start out as a speaker, this Speak for Free, but Never Speak for Free approach is key to a successful launch.  However, once you're launched, more than likely, you won't be doing too many free presentations. 

BUT...

This does NOT mean one should no longer practice the principle attached to this approach.  For instance, I spoke this past weekend for a fee.  However, the fee was lower than my usual rate.  Therefore, I asked for some things in exchange for lowering my fee.

Interested in finding out what I asked for? 

Views: 192

Replies to This Discussion

Wow!  I can't believe no one jumped at this.  This is a great opportunity to learn something new here.

What did you ask for?

Michelle

Thanks for asking Michelle :)

I asked for (and received) the following:

* Video testimonies from the event planners

* The opportunity to send emails to all the leaders of the groups at the event (there were 300+ students there representing about 30 different schools). 

* Jpegs of all the professional pictures that were taken of me while speaking.

* An opportunity to speak to all the leaders of the groups at the event (I shared 5 minutes about what I do and how I might be able to serve them).

Hope this helps you as you grow your speaking business.

Kent

www.speakitforward.com

:) wow our responses crossed paths. That is an excellent list of requests that is both easy to satisfy and excellent marketing/presentation.

Wow, Kent!  You really know how to leverage your time and opportunities.  I will definitely write these ideas down.